This happened.

We had a late night at my parents' place and it was drizzling so my husband went to get the car while the kids and I waited for him by the roadside.

Suddenly, 3 flower pots, 1 by 1, came crashing down right in front of us.

When the 2nd pot crashed, I knocked on my husband's car door to get him to quickly unlock the door so I can put the kids inside for shelter. I was worried that the broken pieces might fly and cut them.

At that point of time, my husband was furious.

He told me to call the police.

I called my Mom (don't know why I did that actually. But the first thing I did was to actually call my Mom) and she told me to call the police too.

And so I did.

While I'm almost done reporting to the police over the line, a man appeared & started picking up the broken pieces and threw it into the bin nearby.

Then, he went to apologize to my husband. His parents came down shortly after and his Dad was asking my husband to let it go.

My husband explained to them about how dangerous this act can be. If anyone happens to be right at that spot, it could be deadly.

Or if we have board the car a few seconds earlier, it could land on our windscreen and smash right into us too.

Then, he explained that they had some family issues and he's sorry. My husband said, "No matter how angry you are, you can't do this."

Soon, the polices arrived.

Truth to be told, the moment I saw the man apologizing with tears in his eyes, I instantly feel extremely bad for calling the police.

The man kept telling us to help him by telling the police that we didn't see him throw it down and it's probably an accident. Well, truth is, we didn't see him throwing the pots down. Another truth is, it's definitely not an accident.

When the police asked us, we said the flower pots landed in front of us but we didn't see who threw it down.

His Mom came.

His Mom started lashing out at him. Then, we found out that the policemen just left their place awhile ago & the police actually told him to leave his parents' place.

From what I know…

1) His Mom refused to let him into the house and the police managed to get him 2 pieces of new clothing.

2) He was just released from the prison.

3) His Mom has probably given up on him.

How I derived on point #3 is because when the police was asking his Mom if it was his son who threw the pots down…

His Mom said, "Yes! I saw him throw it down."

I was stunned and my heart sank.

His Mom continued saying..

"Bring him away! Put him in jail! Even if it's only a year is good for me! Him staying outside my house is creating trouble. Let him inside my house is a tragedy! You don't know how much trouble he has created for us! Go! Go put him in jail!"

I could see his Dad was sad and didn't want to leave but he got pulled away by his wife. While crossing the road, a car approached.

Everyone was asking them to watch out for the car and their son went forward to try and assist them and his Mom said,"I can take care of my own husband!"

I really felt so extremely sad at that point.

I feel so sorry for the Mom. Because what has the son done to made his Mom do this to him? How heartbroken must she be to do this to her own son?

I feel so sorry for the guy. Because why his own parent is not helping him this time round. How unwanted and unloved he must have felt. 😢

Probably if the parents could tolerate a little more, welcome him home, show him more love…. probably, just probably, it could help him to become a better person?

Or probably the guy has really done too much wrong.

I don't know but I know it must a really tough journey for their family.

It makes me wonder… how far and how much should we help someone? At what point should we give up on someone? By reporting to the police, did I do right or wrong? Did I just helped or harmed him?

My husband talked to me about this incident on our journey home.

My mom & I spoke on the phone about it too. She told me not to feel bad and try to sleep.

Both of them are on the same page.

That, reporting is right. It's helping him. It probably made him learn & not do it again. If we don't report, he probably would do it again and what if it really land on someone & cost a life. That would be a lifetime regret.

Sigh.
I wonder how are they now. 😔

I hope they would have happier days ahead.

Just curious..

If it's you who witnessed the flower pots flying down from a block, what would you do?

Would a mother ever really truly give up on our own child?

But then again, if the pots were to hit any of us, I will probably go hysterical & pursue till the end.

But if you have witnessed the emotionally sad scene and the teary-eyed man in his 40s, you probably could feel the heartache too. He said his parents look down on him. ☹️

Leave a comment